Sunday, May 15, 2016

Sexual harassment: former ministers do not want to be quiet – The Point

They are women. They were ministers. And have endured sexist remarks or inappropriate gestures. 17 politicians are calling in The Sunday Journal . Entitled “We will be silent over” the call among its signatories Roselyne Bachelot, Cécile Duflot, Aurélie Filippetti and Nathalie Kosciusko-Morizet, among others. They announce that they now denounce “systematically all sexist remarks, inappropriate gestures, inappropriate behavior”

In the wake of harassment allegations against the Green MP Denis Baupin, 17 former ministers write. “As all women who have accessed previously exclusively male environment, we had to endure and fight against sexism. It is not for women to adapt to these environments, it is the behavior of some men that need to change. ” ” It’s enough. Immunity, it’s over. We will be silent more, they say. We will denounce systematically all the sexist remarks, inappropriate gestures, inappropriate behavior. We encourage all victims of sexual harassment and sexual assault to talk and complain. “He continued:” We are asking our party and our political groups to verify if such acts were committed and if that was the case, to help the victims to get to the truth. “

Tracks need to be investigated

” Today legal arsenal exists, but the laws are not adequately enforced, the signatories deplore. The Labour Code protects the employee, but it is not respected. Few women complain and very few complaints result in convictions. “” Several avenues need to be explored, “they assure, citing in particular the” extension of limitation for sexual assault, for the competent associations to complain instead of victims, the end of correctionnalisation the rape, “or even the” instruction to the prosecutors routinely prosecute in cases of harassment. “

the call is signed by Roselyne Bachelot, Michelle Demessine, Cécile Duflot, Élisabeth Guigou, Aurélie Filippetti, Chantal Jouanno, Nathalie Kosciusko-Morizet, Christine Lagarde, marylise lebranchu, Corinne Lepage, Monique Pelletier, Fleur Pellerin, Valérie Pécresse, Yvette Roudy, Catherine Trautmann, Dominique Voynet, Rama Yade.


No comments:

Post a Comment